Managing your friends list on Facebook is always a bit of a minefield, but the social network’s latest feature appears […]
Managing your friends list on Facebook is always a bit of a minefield, but the social network’s latest feature appears to be causing a lot of drama.
Facebook has quietly introduced a new ‘Hello’ button, which allows users to get people’s attention by sending them a virtual ‘wave’.
It’s similar to the infamous Facebook ‘Poke’, which is still a feature on Facebook, but is now hidden away in a drop-down menu.
The Hello button started rolling out last month, but it’s still in a testing phase, so not all users have it on their profiles yet.
The button appears at the top of users’ profile pages — right next to where you would click to send a friend request, (or ‘unfriend’ someone).
The reason it’s causing drama is to do with the placement of the button — users are clicking it by accident, rather than the add friend / unfriend button.
This could be particularly awkward if you were checking out the profile of someone you don’t know or — even worse — stalking an ex-partner.
Fortunately, if you do happen to slip up and hit Hello when you didn’t mean to, you can undo your mistake by tapping it again and hitting the ‘OK’ option that pops up.
Alternatively, you could wait patiently for the recipient of your inadvertent ‘Hello’ to return your wave.